I’m mostly a first person shooter type of guy. Don’t get me wrong, I love all types of games, and I most certainly branch out to other genres. But at the end of the day, the majority of games that make up my collection are either gonna be first person shooters or third person shooters of some kind. I guess it’s just what I grew up on really. Some years back, in the heyday of the PS2, I’d wake up every day at the crack of dawn (more like 8 or 9:30 or something like that, but still, that’s early for someone with no real obligations) to power up my old PlayStation 2, pop open the disc tray, and throw in some classic Star Wars: Battlefront II action. Now that right there, that was a game. It had a solid campaign that saw you progressing chronologically as a unit (the 501st!) in the clone army through historic battles in the Clone Wars such as Geonosis and Kashyyyk, being given the opportunity to control legendary heroes and villains to dominate the battlefield.

Star Wars Battlefront II classic - 501st + Obi Wan

Then the infamous Order 66 rolls around and you destroy the Jedi order, completing the transition from the Clone Wars era to the Galactic Civil War era. From there, you continue your march on the galaxy, conquering planet after planet and snuffing out any flames of the rebellion uprising that your superiors can find. Ultimately the campaign ends with the 501st, Vader’s Fist, out on top as they crush the rebellion on Hoth.

Star Wars Battlefront II - Shiny New Armor

Shiny New Armor

Along with the campaign, the game also had a conquest mode, where you could choose one of the four factions consisting of the Republic (clones), CIS (Confederation of Independent Systems i.e. droids), Rebellion (fight the power!), and the Empire (clones vol. 2). You would then be put on a galactic map with access to one cruiser class ship, 1000 credits, and three or so planets to go forth and take the rest of the galaxy. Gradually, you would conquer planets and gain income from ones under your control in order to unlock new units and bonuses to gain the edge in the next fight.

On top of these two primary game modes, there was instant action mode, elite weapon and player unlockables, space battles, hunt modes (generally consisting of a native species vs invading faction), and a heroes versus villains mode. Keeping in mind, this was all from a game that came out in 2005. It included almost everything that was right with Star Wars and Star Wars: Battlefront and added even more features and options without detracting from the original experience, as most any sequel ought to do.

Now, I wasn’t even planning on talking about the original Star Wars: Battlefront II to this extent, but I suppose it is fairly serendipitous in a way, seeing as the new Star Wars: Battlefront II is coming out soonish (Nov. 17, 2017) as of today. I am excited to see what EA and Dice along with all of everybody else can rustle together for the second iteration of the new age Battlefront. While I don’t own the latest Battlefront, I did get to play a little bit of it  some time ago, and I thought it was a fairly solid update to its predecessors, particularly if you’re accustomed to the feel of the Battlefield series, as both games are developed by EA and Dice. The main thing that I was disappointed in was the lack of a solid campaign that the previous games had so proudly boasted, which was not an uncommon complaint. I know there was a series of four solo/cooperative wave survival missions, but there was just no real sustained PVE element. And this caused me particular grievance as a guy who loves some good cooperative gameplay (especially games that we can play as local split screen, with our buddy/father/son/other family member/loved one sitting right there next to us). But, from what I have heard about the upcoming release, it will host a robust campaign along with the fun and hectic multiplayer elements making a return. So if I wasn’t excited before, I most certainly am now! I just need to take the leap and purchase a PS4… Eh.

Star Wars Battlefront II - Cover

On a side note, I was conversing with my father one day after we had recently squashed the Rebellion Uprising once again, and we started kicking around ideas for stories that Star Wars: Battlefront III could undertake. And my dad came up with the concept of passing the narrative from the clone/empire army to the newly formed Rebellion. You could then follow the remainder of the movies and ultimately retake the galaxy from the clutches of the Empire. I thought it was a pretty sweet idea actually, but from what I can tell, it looks like the new Battlefront II will remain with an Empire narrative after all. Should still be a fun game, but alas!

Whew! Alright, so I had originally planned to talk about my recent experiences in everybody’s favorite iteration of the Call of Duty series, Call of Duty: Black Ops 2. Now is it really everybody’s favorite? I don’t know, I mean, it’s probably not even really my favorite COD, as I tend to hearken back to the days of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. I feel like most people tend to just look back on the first Call of Duty that they played with the most reverence Anyways, this post is already long enough as it is, so I’ll reserve further talk of Call of Duty for my next post. See ya there!

Leave a Reply

